Net Roots Movement

Lets Make Change.

Another Appeal!

I’m not sure how I feel about this. I think its good that it was the courts rather than the congress who appealed the decision but I think it is kind of silly that they are going to ad another court decision to the already long list. I think the fact that the courts are reconsidering shows how great this country is. I don’t agree with the decision, I think at this point we should just let Schiavo pass peacfully with forcing a feeding tube back into her body; but nonetheless, I’m glad to see that the power of protest is still efective.

But then again, the proteters are in a very small minority and are using rather sick forms of protest (taping their children’s mouth closed). I don’t know abotu this.

It doesn’t really matter because there is no way the 11th Circut Court will overturn the decision. I don’t think it’s fair to give the Schindlers and all those crazy pro-life people false hope.

Ahhhhh! I’m just sick of this.

openthread: what do you think about the decision to hear the Schiavo case AGAIN!?

March 30, 2005 - Posted by | The Progressive Movement

4 Comments »

  1. I think it is appropriate. After all, the only reason Congress acted to begin with was to get federal court to give the matter a fair hearing in the first place, and the first Federal Judge that simply blew it off should be removed from the bench. I find it ironic that you call the taping of the kids mouths shut a sick form of protest, but have no issues with Michael essentially doing the same thing to Terri until she dies. I will have to say, allowing the autopsy to take place has eased a one of my major concerns, and had Michael not been such a total scumbag by deserting his “wife” and whoring around, I might have been much more favorable to his position. After all, it is hard for me to place him on the moral high ground, when he so clearly shows himself to be adulterous scum.

    Comment by ÐÇRøçk§ | March 30, 2005 | Reply

  2. Well actually the Schindlers were the ones who encouraged him to get on with his life, and I don’t think you can blame him for wanting to sit by his disabled wifes side for the rest of his life. However you still cannot say that he is a devoted husband when he has kids with another woman.

    Comment by Anonymous | March 30, 2005 | Reply

  3. I wanted to follow up with some info on why bush signed the Texas law. Here is a lint to a site that explains it. And, Yes, I know they are VERY biased, but it will at least give you a frame of reference.

    http://www.nrlc.org/euthanasia/Terri/BushTexasLaw.html

    Comment by ÐÇRøçk§ | March 30, 2005 | Reply

  4. I also want to correct a mistake I made in saying the Senate Dems were against this:

    /// Sunday afternoon, the Senate gave unanimous consent to the measure. There are 44 Democrats in the Senate. Iowa Democratic Senator Tom Harkin stood tall in Terri’s defense.

    Moreover, 100 House Democrats voted early Monday morning. Nearly half – 47 — joined 156 House Republican colleagues to pass the bill overwhelmingly, 203-58. Jesse Jackson, Jr., was among the Democrats who voted aye. ///

    My mistake, and I hope this goes a ways towards correcting it.

    Comment by ÐÇRøçk§ | March 30, 2005 | Reply


Leave a Reply

